top of page

Alex Sipiagin, Bob Sheppard, Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra

Walkabout 1500.jpg
Walkabout Alt 1500.jpg
Mothership Group.jpg


was inspired by the film of the same name, directed by Nicholas Roeg, and the original novel, The Children, by James Vance Marshall. This project was made possible with funding from New Zealand School of Music at Victoria University of Wellington and the Sydney Conservatorium of Music.

The Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra is Australia's premiere jazz orchestra. In 2011, the group commissioned Dave Lisik's album-length composition, Walkabout - A Place for Visions, and recorded and premiered the work, with guest soloists Alex Sipiagin and Bob Sheppard, at the Sydney Conservatorium.


1. Walkabout  (9:31)  "A Place for Visions"
2. The Children  (8:32)  "Tomorrow Was Also a Day"
3. Random Fireflies  (5:46)  "Their Nightlights Flickering Like Sparklets"
4. Worumgala, Worum Mwa  (5:34)  "Where Do You Come From? Where Are You Going?"
5. Intro to Ebony & Moonlight  (2:58)
6. Ebony & Moonlight  (4:36)  "Hour After Hour He Stood There, a Shadow Carved"
7. Walking Alone  (5:41)  "The Proving of Manhood in His Tribal Timetable"
8. The Medicine Man  (6:39)  "Those Whom the Spirit Wants, He Takes"
9. Intro to Ritual Dance  (1:21)
10. Ritual Dance  (6:45)  "Harness the Elements, the Fire Was Made"

All music composed by Dave Lisik (ASCAP)

Produced by Dave Lisik and David Theak
Recorded by Stuart Long and Dave Lisik at Studio 301, Sydney, Austrlia
Edited and mixed by Dave Lisik 
Mastered by Steve Garden

Alex Sipiagin, trumpet

Bob Sheppard, tenor saxophone 

David Theak, alto saxophone
Murray Jackson, alto saxophone
Richard Maegraith, tenor saxophone

Matt Keegan, tenor saxophone 
Nick Bowd, baritone saxophone

Darryl Carthew, lead trumpet
Angus Gomm, trumpet
Andy Fiddes, trumpet 
Simon Ferenci, trumpet 
Dave Panichi, trombone 
Ben Gurton, trombone 
James Kennedy, trombone 
Justin Kearin, bass trombone

Carl Morgan, guitar 
Hugh Barrett, piano 
Brendan Clarke, contrabass 
Jamie Cameron, drums & cymbals  
Phil South, percussion 
Daryl Pratt, vibraphone  

bottom of page